Favorites Week – Stitches

March 6, 2008 at 4:46 pm (Crochet)

I’ve decided that this next week or so is going to be Favorites Week, where I’ll post about my favorites when it comes to crochet.  Today I’m going to start with stitches. 

The Daisy Stitch.

I’m not sure if this is technically called the daisy stitch, but that’s what it was reffered to on this Craftster post where I discovered it.  My favorite thing about this stitch is that you can use a different yarn for each row of flowers, and it doesn’t look clashy or like it was simply a “stash-buster.”

<–photo courtesy of sonnetbird on Craftster

The Mesh Stitch.

I’ve only recently started using this stitch, but I love it already.  The projects made with it work up very quickly, and make such lacy, elegant-looking fabrics.  It’s also really versatile.  You can make the “holes” in the mesh larger or small by adding or subracting chains, or using double crochet instead of single crochet.  The basic one I use is a sc, ch5, skip next 3 sts, sc.

photo from LionBrand’s StitchFinder–>

Clusters.

This is another simple but cool stitch.  The ones I use (which are used in the pattern for this hat)  are made by doing several dcs in the same stitch, but without pulling the last loops through, then pulling through after the last dc so that all of them are bunched together at the top and bottom, making a puffy little stitch.  You can make them larger or smaller by varying the number and type of stitch within the cluster.  One of the things I like the most about this stitch is that you can use it for more or less any type of project.

<–picture from Caron’s free pattern website

Of course, there are tons of other stitches that I enjoy using, but these three I feel are some of the most versatile and fairly easiest to pick up.  Feel free to comment with your own personal favorites or least favorites! 🙂

2 Comments

  1. thekidneybean said,

    I like all those stitches! The mesh in interesting since I’ve never seen it made with ‘X’ stitches. Also, the daisy stitch really is perfect for stashbusting. I’d like to see that stitch in a scarf.
    I already have a cluster hat queued on Ravelry! They’re so fun looking and probably not to complicated.

  2. National Crochet Month? « Hooked said,

    […] of the Crochet Guild of America (also which I didn’t know existed),  it can be celebrated by learning a new stitch, crocheting for charity, teaching someone to crochet, etc.  I just felt that this was an […]

Leave a Reply

