Favorites Week – Yarns

March 9, 2008 at 2:16 pm (Crochet, Knit)

One of the larger debates in the needleworking world is about yarns.  Which is better, acrylics or natural fibers?  For me, I’ve only used acrylics, with the exception of a skein of Lion Wool.  Unfortunately, I don’t have any yarn stores in the immediate area, and my tight college budget doesn’t really allow me to pay more than a few dollars for a skein of yarn :/  However, there are plenty of acrylic yarns that I have used and loved, and here some of them are!Caron Bliss.

This yarn is sooooo soft!  It comes in different colors, some bright, some muted.  It’s 53% nylon, 47% acrylic.  It’s a very ligt yarn to work with, but it’s a bulky yarn because of the poofy quality of it.  I’ve used it for hat trim, scarves, and slippers.  One of the nicest things about it is that, as you’re working with it, it doesn’t irritate your hands because it’s not only soft, but smooth too. 

Lion Suede.

This is another favorite of mine.  It too has a nice soft feel to it, but it isn’t as fluffy as the Bliss yarn.  It’s a 100% polyester yarn.  One of the positives about this yarn is that, while it’s also very nice to work with, you can see the stitches when you use it.  It’s also a bulky yarn, because it’s make with very thick strands.  I’ve used it for toys, parts of blankets, and hats.

Patons Carmen.

Yes, this one is another soft yarn.  Unlike the other two, however, this yarn is not a solid colored or patterned yarn.  It is a 36% polyester, 64% nylon blend yarn.  It has a base color, with bits of various solids mixed throughout the yarn.  It’s a bulky yarn, and also has a smooth feel to it.  I’ve used it for slippers and toys, and am currently attempting to make a hat with it.

1 Comment

  1. thekidneybean said,

    I’ve never used those yarns before, but I’m mainly an acryllic user. I do want to try the Lion Suede – perfect for kid’s toys. Lion Brand is one of my favorite brands and I use Babysoft lots. The Carmen and Bliss yarns look nice to use, also.

Leave a Reply

