Favorites Week – Patterns

March 13, 2008 at 2:44 pm (Crochet)

For the final entry in favorites week, I wanted to share a few of my favorite free patterns that I have found on the web.  Many of my favorite patterns are ones that I’ve discovered through Crochet Pattern Central, in their huge database.
I found this pattern on Crochet Pattern Central when I was looking for a good fingerless glove pattern.  What I love about this pattern is that you can use it to make regular gloves, fingerless gloves, or gloves that are switchable between regular and fingerless.  You can also change the size just by changing yarn and/or hook size. 
I think this pattern is adorable.  There are a lot of crochet cupcakes out there, but I like these ones because of the sort of frilly edge on the frosting.  This is also a versatile pattern.  You can change around the yarn colors to make different “flavors”, and you can use contrasting colors for sprinkles.  It’s also a quick pattern, so you can make a lot in a short time. (unfortunately, the picture is too big to post here, but you can see it by clicking the link.)
As mentioned in my Stitches post, this afghan is a great project.  It’s completely customizable.  You can make it a stash busting projects with all different yarns, you can pick one color and use different shades of it, and you can give it different borders.  You can easily change the size by changing how many flowers per stripe you use, and how many rows you use.  You could easily turn this afghan pattern into a scarf pattern by doing a small number of rows with many flowers in each row.
1 Comment

  1. Rick Hancock said,

    Great job!

Leave a Reply

